Administration‎ > ‎Information Technology‎ > ‎IT FAQ‎ > ‎

Network Ports List


The Well Known Ports are controlled and assigned by the IANA and on most systems can only be used by system (or root) processes or by programs executed by privileged users. The port numbers are divided into three ranges: the Well Known Ports, the Registered Ports, and the Dynamic and/or Private Ports.
  • 0 - 1023: The Well Known Ports
  • 1024 - 49151: The Registered Ports
  • 49152 - 65535: The Dynamic and/or Private Ports

Ports are used in the TCP of the TCP/IP proticals to name the ends of logical connections which carry long term conversations. For the purpose of providing services to unknown callers, a service contact port is defined. This list specifies the port used by the server process as its contact port. The contact port is sometimes called the "well-known port".

For a complet list of "The Registered Ports" and "Dynamic /Private Ports" (1024 - 65535) Go to

Well Known Ports Names